MLK Jr. Memorial Celebration

Event Overview

Since 1993, we have awarded more than 150 scholarships to Chapel Hill and Orange County high school and college students. These students have demonstrated a commitment to community involvement and improvement through their civic, educational and religious activities. We look forward to your continued supports of our efforts to help these deserving students at our upcoming virtual event.

2024 event AGENDA

This year’s Master of Ceremonies is Bishop L. Gene Hatley. Our funding goal is to award 15-20 non-renewable scholarships. Our ambitious goal can only be achieved with the strong support of the community.  The highlights our work and showcase the scholarship recipients and awards honorees. This year’s event will begin at 5:30pm with coffee and dessert and will be followed by a celebratory lecture.  The event is free and open to the public. Please use the button below to reserve your seat. Details regarding the 2024 MLK JR. Memorial Celebration are below.  If you have questions please email or for support.

 Date: Sunday, January 14, 2024

Event Format: Lecture style (Dinner will not be served)

Coffee & Desserts: 5:30pm

Event Time:  6:00 pm

Location: William and Ida Friday Center, Grumman Auditorium

Keynote Speaker: Honorable Beverly Scarlett

Event Cost: Free and open to the public


flag presentation
Orange County Sheriff's Office Honor Guard
Opening Remarks
Bishop L. Gene Hatley

Master of Ceremonies

Reverend Justin Coleman

lift every voice and sing

Congresswoman Valerie Foushee
greetings from the University
Dr. Leah Cox

Vice Provost of Equity & Inclusion/Chief Diversity Officer
UNC-Chapel Hill

Greetings from the mayors
Honorable jess Anderson
Honorable Barbara Foushee-
musical selection
Belah Choir
greetings from 2023 scholarship recipient
Ms. Goodness Miracle
Bridge Builder Award
Ms. Lillian Lee
Citizenship Award
Ms. Delores Bailey
Keynote Speaker introduction
Ms. Angela Lee
The Honorable Beverly Scarlett

Former District Court Judge

musical selection
Ms. Jennifer Evans
Bishop L. Gene Hatley

Master of Ceremonies

Apostle maythel clemens

Ms. Lillian Lee